Fred Perry Limited Edition: Country Shirts

To commemorate European retro-sport, Fred Perry have released a limited edition collection of country specific polo shirts, perfect for getting the lads round and trooping your colours for all the events set for this summer including the European football tournament commencing this year.


Here we have provided a run down of facts to get you up to scratch with the groups and history behind this anticipated tournament.

Home Nation: France

Begins: Friday 10th of June – France vs. Romania

Final: Saturday 10th of July & will be held at the Stade de France


Group A: France, Romania, Albania, Switzerland                    Group D: Spain, Czech Republic, Turkey, Croatia

Group B: England, Russia, Wales, Slovakia                             Group E: Belgium, Italy, Republic of Ireland, Sweden

Group C: Germany, Poland, Ukraine, Northern Ireland            Group F: Portugal, Iceland, Austria, Hungary

For the first time the tournament will contain 24 teams, welcoming new countries Albania, Iceland, Northern Ireland, Slovakia and Wales who haven’t yet played in the Euro’s. This adds 2 more categories in to the group stages along with an additional knockout round. Spain will be defending their two-time title but the favourites this year are the home team, France and the German team with England sitting in 4th.

The England squad will be named by the 1st of June by coach Roy Hodgson – there is some speculation as to whether Wayne Rooney should be named as part of the squad due to the good form of Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Andy Carrol (West Ham) and even 18 year old Marcus Ashford (Manchester United).  The England team have never won the trophy before – can these elite players change things this year?

This football contest was first held in 1960 and this year will be the 15th of it’s kind and of all of the tournaments Germany and Spain are the most successful teams, both winning on 3 occasions. The trophy is named after Henri Delauney, the former president of the French Football Federation (FFF) and UEFA’s first general secretary and unfortunately died in 1955 before seeing his idea develop into the iconic gathering of  European football fans but the prize is a testament to his enduring legacy.

How the tournament works….

  • Initially 54 teams try to Qualify for the tournament.
  • The qualifying phase begins in the autumn after the preceding FIFA World Cup, almost two years before the finals.
  • The qualifying phase is played in a group format, the composition of the groups is determined through means of a draw.
  • Teams then either qualify for the final tournament or to further playoffs depending on their position in the group. (England won their group, winning all ten games)
  • 24 teams then progress to the final tournament.
  • The 24 teams will be split up into groups of 4. (The groups I’ve listed above J)
  • Each team within each group will play each other once, receiving 3 points for a win, 1 point for a draw, and 0 points for a loss.
  • The top two teams from each group will then progress to the knockout stages.
  • Teams will be drawn against each other, they will then play a single match, the winner goes through to the next stage, and the loser is knocked out.
  • The 16 qualifying teams will eventually be narrowed down to 2, the final is played and the winner wins the cup!

Whether you’re going down to the pub or heading to the stadium, check out our range of designer menswear and look sharp for the match and don’t forget to get your colours in the Fred Perry limited Edition Country Polo Shirt!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *